Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Cosmic Importance in Minutia
Tuesday, Mar. 06, 2007
2:04 p.m.

My mother just called to give me a play-by-play of their trip to the hockey game the other night. Her company gives out free tickets, and so they go, 'cause it's free, not because either of them really have any inerest in hockey or because my mother is really friends with anyone else in the company (she isn't, because as soon as you tell anyone you work with anything, it will come back to bite you in the ass- not her words, but her philosophy). I remember when we used to have to go to the games, my brother and I considered the Zamboni the single highlight of the game.

Anyway, she didn't call to tell me about the game, not that I would've cared, but she called to tell me about driving across town to the arena, finding the right entrance, trying to find their seats, finding their seats and...

Dang, now she's got me doing it. It's like someone copying Beckett, all the minutia, none of the cosmic importance.

My mother seriously needs some friends. If she'd just adjust her paranoia to obscure her ideas that everyone on the Internet is out to get her, she'd be able to find some forum or blog or something where she could just talk, except on-screen, to someone not me.

Twice in the last 12 months I've had this peculiar deja-vu. Well, I have deja-vu a lot, but the thing is, I've had the same deja-vu twice. I can't really describe the first time, other than that it was on the way to visit the university last spring, and I had this vauge moment of presentiment that felt like deja-vu. The feeling was that this was all a big mistake and not going to last.

Today was that moment, and it instantly recalled the moment from last spring.

Four deer just ran across the road outside before I could get my camera.

Anyway, I don't much feel like going into all the reasons and wherefores, but I think I've pretty much failed my expectations, as well as fulilling my premenitions.

I can't help feeling it's for the best, somehow, though. Something just hasn't felt right about this whole year, and all the time I just thought it was me.

This is why Pippin is my favourite musical.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------