Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Parents Freak Me Out
Monday, Nov. 27, 2006
7:23 p.m.

Parent meeting was tonight. The two girls from the first day of auditions didn't show. It would figure that I cast them as leading characters Lucy and Mairi.

Parents as well as children do not follow directions: I put a place on the bottom that indicated the parent should sign it if they DIDN'T want their child included in any pictures I might take. Since I know some of them screwed it up, I'm just not going to take any pictures, therefore there will be none here. I think parents must just get used to signing on the dotted line and not paying attention. Schools could send home a flyer indicating that you sign and send it back if you want your child poisoned and some of them would probably do it.

I did cast Little Miss Additude as The Enchantress, and when I gave the quick character description "she's the bad guy", her father rolled his eyes and laughed. I think I hit that one spot on.

In spite of the fact that I am a total moron when it comes to the fax machine and was copying the entire script one page at a time, and then collating the second act while the parents walked in, they called me organised.

Me. Organised. Let's all say what The Boy says to me on a regular basis together shall we? "You'd lose your head if it wasn't attached." I must do a marvellous job of faking poise, sophistication and organisation, because none of them are talents I actually posess.

Only four of the kids didn't bother to show up in any way shape or form, and I am seriously hoping that they show up tomorrow, because if they don't, I will have to do a major re-cast using the kids who have the least talent.

That bothers me a little bit. I am also scheudling around basketball and then volleyball, but that's expected. So, in a nutshell, I am incredibly worried (read that terrified), but also assuming that I am not doing nearly as badly as I think I am.

I did, however, finish writing the script. I have a feeling that the fact I saved them something in the region of 500 bucks for scripts and royalties will make it a wonderful script in spite of whatever flaws it has. Which, it's got some big ones. Mainly the entire second act, which just seems to happen without rhyme, reason, or explanation. But, I can re-write it if the kids start to notice.

The worst part? I still don't have a title for the stupid thing. I'm going to have the kids come up with one, and make it a contest, I think. Easier that way.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------