Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
The Lovers, the Dreamers...
Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2005
11:41 a.m.

Signed myself up for NaNoWriMo today. J-Boss (her name is so unusual that all the Googles related to it are her, so J-Boss she will remain) was so intrigued by the idea that she says she'd like to do it too. So, there, now I have someone whose going to poke me every day and ask me my word count. Good and bad, I suppose.

Last night, as it was the first night in... oh, three months that there was absolutely nothing going on (no homework, no shows, no shopping, nothing), Nathan and I went and rented a couple movies. Sad that we get all excited about a couple of movies, isn't it? Especially since we're not in our forties.

Kinsey was pretty good. It wasn't terribly gripping, though. I expected it to be a little bit more like, I don't know, like a movie you can't stop watching, I guess. The pacing seems off somehow, there are great moments, and it's interesting enough, but you could do something else while you're watching it. Tim Curry was entirely wasted, I've no idea what he was s'posed to be in the film for unless there was a good deal more written than ended up in the final cut. Which, there's a lot to suggest that this is the case. All in all, it was fun to watch, but I doubt I'd ever own it.

That travesty they call the Muppets Wizard of Oz, however, was a bigger mistake than I told Nathan it would be when he picked it out. Jim Henson spun in his grave, folks (as were, I'm sure, L Fank Baum and everyone involved with the MGM production). It was unfair to the book, the film, and the Muppets. Don't waste that 100 minutes of your life unless you have some sort of an obsession with Ashante (or however she spells it). The single funniest bit in the whole show was the obligatory "Wizard of Oz? Do you happen to know a Frank Oz?" (Who, incidently, did not seem to have anything to do with the production.) I guess this is what happens when a project goes to Disney, which is so unfair considering the visionaries that both Walt Disney and Jim Henson were.

Kermit on a hollow log playing a banjo with a dream to sing and dance and make people happy. That's what entertainment should be about. Is there anyone around today doing that and doing it well? I really want to know.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------