Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
A Day in the Life
Tuesday, Oct. 18, 2005
12:59 p.m.

Today I went to the birth genetics class that's posing as a biology course. At least once a week we get to look at pictures of people with birth genetics. Quite frankly, that's not how I want to spend my time before lunch.

Yesterday I couldn't go anywhere because I woke up at six unable to move the major bits of my body without ending up in pain. My theory is this: when I was in third grade, a friend of mine had a sleepover birthday party on a Friday night. Well, everyone ought to know that there is very little sleeping done at these things, and so the next day a very tired kid (me) went to her YWCA gymnastics lessons. In which, due to the tiredness, I wrenched my neck good and proper in the midst of a cartwheel. Hurt for three days or something.

Sometimes at night when I get cold, my neck will re-pull. Usually, I just hear a sort of snap, momentary pain and I'm OK to go back to sleep again. This was not the case yesterday as there was no happy place, everything hurt. I stayed in bed all day because flat on my back was about the only position that was mildly tolerable until about four o clock.

I'm taking the painkillers (yes, me, who never takes anything unless I am under pain of death, or being totally annoying about my pain) and wondering what on earth sort of shape I would be in if I weren't taking them.

Friend Karissa asked if I'd been to the doctor or no, and no, I'm not, and unless it gets worse tomorrow I won't be going. Generally, I know what's wrong with me: I need to rest and dragging myself over for an appointment at the Death Centre is not worth the effort I would expend going there. But, uni needs someone else to confirm that I am indeed feeling like crap after a certain point. This also means that I am all out of "free" absences, so if I decide not to go to classes again, I pretty much have to be bad enough to go to a doctor, or have some university approved excuse.

Today is the Directing Scene from MacBeth for Friend Carson. I know all my Lady McB-ness, but whether Nathan will have his lines today or not is anyone's guess. Ah well, as long as Friend Carson does better than the guy who has only had one rehearsal and the guy who probably hasn't had any, he'll be pleased with the performance.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------