Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Groundhog's Eve
Thursday, Feb. 01, 2007
1:16 p.m.

Today is, according to the comic strip Agnes, Groundhog's Eve. As winter has finally arrived down here, I think it would be nicely ironic if the groundhog doesn't see his shadow tomorrow. (For the first time in several years I think, too.)

You know, I think it's about time this country really went in for a good ol' secular holiday. Groundhog's Day could totally be it. It's already got a movie (which I've never seen- give me a break, I only recently watched Ghostbusters), an adorable furry mascot, and a little bit of superstitious mythos to it. Just add presents, candy, or costumes to have a ready-made American holiday the entire country can enjoy.

Play "Don't Pin the Shadow on the Groundhog"- a game perfect for these all inclusive equal opportunity times because everyone would win. Dress up as your favourite season. It could be an opportunity for kids to learn about hibernation, how the seasons change, how to tell time using the sun, and other nifty facts about shadows. Honestly, what a great potential holiday- entertainment, education, and I'm sure there's a way to work drinking in there somewhere, for the grown-ups.

Anyway, when I said winter had arrived, I mean that it actually snowed an inch or so last night. Check out the pictures on Flickr if you like (it's linked in my links page, but otherwise it's this name on Flickr).

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------