Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Is it Friday? Really?
Friday, Jan. 18, 2008
2:15 p.m.

It turns out that "entertainment blog" job was just a scam. Well, not really a scam, more of a bait and switch. If you e-mail them, they e-mail you a link where you can sign up for "freelance jobs in your community." From there, according to the research I did, the job opportunities cost money. Right. Because I need to pay to find a job. That's not counter productive, or anything.

And it was written intelligently too; used real words, proper punctuation, no bizarre promises of BIG BUKXS (yeah, I've seen that particular spelling) and copious exclamation points. I guess Craigslist might work in towns with communities and jobs and that sort of thing, but out here it's pretty much pointless.

Our phone isn't working. Whee. Figures. If the Internet's working, the phone isn't. I suspect it may have something to do with the fact that the router and the phone are on the same frequency, but we can't change the router frequency and have it still work. Anyway, all MediaCom ever does is come out and fiddle around with it and ultimately blame the problem on someone else.

We're thinking about dropping the phone. It's ridiculous to pay an ever-escalating price for something that doesn't work 90% of the time. Because, yes, the phone costs more than the Internet.

The reason I really need the phone to work is because I called my Uncle and left him a message to the tune that we're interested in buying my grandparent's house. Interested in a sort of "we're never going to be able to afford it, but I will kill myself if I don't at least pursue this enough to find out exactly how implausible it is" way.

Anyway, it occurred to me that not only had I not heard back from him, I hadn't heard the phone ring at all in the past week. So I tried getting the messages, no go. Not only would it not let me into the system, if I tried on another phone, it wants a different pass code, which I don't know since The Boy sets all these things up and doesn't tell me. I have told him before to please put them in a notepad file so I can put 'em on my computer, but, no.

Let's see, I missed getting a Wii by another half hour again. This is getting frustrating. Even worse is going online and seeing all the Ebay scalpers posting images of twenty Wiis lined up in their living rooms.

It makes a person stabby, ya know?

Did I mention I made my own wall calendar this year? I was impressed. A bunch of my Flickr images, plus printer, plus card stock, plus Google calendar, plus less than 2 dollars at Staples for the spiral binding equals calendar.

I may have stumbled upon Christmas presents for everyone for next year. Cheaper than cookies.

If you haven't read xkcd.com today, you must. And yes, that's just a link to the main page. Today=every time he updates in my book. I'm just worried that the guy who writes it is not as cool as he is in my mind. Because the guy in my mind, I would totally love to meet.

It doesn't feel like Friday.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------