Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Earth Hour
Sunday, Mar. 30, 2008
3:34 p.m.

Well, for Earth Hour yesterday we did manage to turn the lights off for the hour. I got to hear a certain amount of complaining, because why should we turn off the lights if we can't burn candles?

I didn't bother to explain that paraffin based candles (the only sort he'd be interested in, because he's used to his mother burning scented candles) were, in fact, worse than electric bulbs. 100% beeswax or tallow candles wouldn't do this, of course, but they're a bit harder to find. However, our lease says we still can't burn anything in the house and I get enough flak for reusing the little bits of oil and grease I do keep. (Deep fat frying and seasoning cast iron skillets.)

I'm still looking for a use for way past date Crisco, though. It's so glue-y sticky I can't think what it might be useful for, but there's so much of it I can't bear to throw it away.

Anyway, we turned off the lights and sat in the dark on computers for the hour. Sorta not exactly the intent of the experiment, I suppose, but as earth conscious as we could manage.

I did get a Lehman's catalogue that came in the mail with one of my birthday presents, though. Looking through that sucker sure makes me want to live like Tom and Barbara, from Good Neighbours, or possibly like marn.

Honestly, I don't see it happening. But it's nice to think about, anyway.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------