Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Coming up Clovers
Monday, Jun. 16, 2008
5:18 p.m.

First of all, hello to the Farker (Farkette?) who must've found me through Google as a result of the bridal thread the other day. I dunno if you'll come back, but you're welcome, and the barn is in Atkins, but they have a branch in Davenport- both in Iowa.

On the job front, I e-mailed a place I found on Craigslist last night. I was a bit worried as they're a car place that misspelled their name in the ad, and it's a chain that (as I admitted to the woman) has screwed my brother over, but in a completely different state, and they're a franchise, so that's not really important anyway.

I have a feeling the woman might want to hire me. She reminds me a bit of the J-Boss, from when I worked at the BO.

But, I have another interview on Wednesday with the photography studio people. Two phone calls in one morning when I expected none- that's some sort of record for me.

I also, out of the blue, got an e-mail from a very old friend a few days ago, as well as a phone call from another friend.

You know Crazy for You, the not Gershwin musical with all the Gershwin songs? It has one called "Things Are Looking Up" and that's been ringing in the back of my head today.

So, it would be lovely to be called back by both places, but I honestly don't know which I'd choose. Up until I had the interview, I'd have said the photography place because, really, receptionist in the car repair place doesn't much appeal to me, but it seems like a nice place, hey, potentially discounted car stuff would be very good what with now having the "new" car that's two years younger than me.

I think they're both twenty hours, and they'd both be minimum wage, so, we'll see. We'll see. If it weren't for the fact that I'm pretty sure they're primarily looking for Saturday people, I'd almost consider working both.

I've been reading Dune and being incredibly thirsty. I don't think that the one is related to the other, but it's a bit annoying anyway. I've finished the first "book" and am in the second, and I think that I don't much care for it.

It's getting by on this "What, you don't understand the alien words and phrases that I made up? Well, that's because this is an "alien" world." Except for when it's like our own- they eat French food, there are half a dozen references to things that are pretty much Earth-based (cheddar, creosote, coffee, yeah...). I can accept one, I can accept the other, but let's not mix them like this. JRR Tolkien could get by with it because Middle Earth is Earth. If we're going to have a reveal that Caladan or Arrakis is Earth, OK, fine, but I don't buy it yet.

I am also a little annoyed by this habit of dropping reveals on us as sudden fact because someone's magical powers of logic worked it out, therefore it must be so. "The spice is a drug!" WTF? How does one arrive at that conclusion based on any of the humdrum crap we've been told? There's a lot of time wasted on things that don't matter, and it's as though we're supposed to forget what we know to care about the ignorance of other characters.

But, he's got three hundred pages to work it all out. We'll see.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------