Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Ch ch ch choices
Monday, Apr. 16, 2007
5:44 p.m.

For those of you who may be getting tired of hearing about the children, I apologise, but when that's the most interesting thing I do with my time... Just humour me.

Mikey the Life Boy is Sticky Out Ears Boy's younger brother. MLB was being particularly obstinant about something and I commented that he generally wasn't so much like his brother.

"Who? Sticky Out Ears?"
"What, you've got other brothers?"
"Yeah, but he's adopted from when my mom was nineteen and-"
"OK, OK, too much information there."

I feel for MLB, though, because the only other boy in his age range, Adopted Girl's Brother (pain in the ass though he is), is home having the stomach flu with his sister. MLB is light years older than the other boys in maturity and is just coming into the age where he doesn't want to associate with the girls.

Now that I've got a little more perspective about third grade girls, I think I understand why third grade boys believe they carry cooties. What other reason do they have for acting like they belong on some totally distant planet?

We had rehearsal outside today because it was in the 70's. I prefer it. Maybe it's because there's more room, or maybe it just goes back to being in camp, or maybe I just care less how loud they scream and how far they run because they're not going to ruin anything other than themselves. It was a little wet still, as most of their knees attest.

I need to get a little more perspective on next year. There's a library job open for applications at the university that I'd like to get. I'm not sure from the way they worded it if it's a summer thing or a next year thing. It's a 42 hour a week job and makes more than ten bucks an hour, but it'd mean not being finished until 4:30.

While that means I'd be making two thousand bucks a month, there'd be no way I could do the kids show. I could offer to assist, or write it for them or whatever, but I couldn't actually do it.

Sadly, job opportunities down here involve bar-tending, nursing, manual labour, or education. I haven't the skillz for two out of the three and don't have certification for the other. That and I honestly couldn't work for a school. Too much of a teacher's job involves doing things that aren't teaching. Me, however, what I'm doing now is pretty much all kids. It's ten percent scheduling and ten percent designer/stage manager work, but that's 80% kids.

I've always seen education as maybe 50% kids, but an additional 25% irate parents, 10% union, 10% meetings, 30% district and federal expectations, and 10% extra crap. (Those of you who can do simple math know better than I do that adds up to more than 100%.)

Anyway, I dunno. I think maybe I'll try something with the library, and since I'd make in two months the same amount of money I've made for this entire gig... I might have a decision to make.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------