Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Technology Blows My Mind
Saturday, May. 12, 2007
9:00 p.m.

It's been a Nintendo sort of day. I've found copies of both Super Mario RPG and Harvest Moon.

I am definately a Nintendo girl. There was a while in there when Ecco the Dolphin sorely tempted my heart after a Sega, but in the end, Nintendo's got games I actually want to play.

Gamer guys argue that PSP is some kind of graphic marvel, and, yes, I suppose if you like to play first person shooters with a controller instead of a computer, that's probably true. I just want to play stuff that's fun and different from standard gaming fare- shooting, fighting, football. This is why I want a Wii so badly. And, seriously, if it is what it presents itself to be, I may for the first time in my life be interested in a sport game that isn't baseball. Besides, I'm also hoping for a first person light sabre duel game someday. How cool would that be?

I've heard argument that Wii movement capture just involves wiggling your wrist around in the correct way, but I've been watching some of the promo videos for some of the machines they used, and it actually can get very specific. They had a pro tennis player come in and do a "pro" shot, and showed a regular guy trying to reproduce it.

Anyway, it puts DDR and the old Nintendo number pad to shame. I actually knew someone who had one of those pads, their dog slept on it.

We had a Super Scope- the big bazooka looking gun for SNES. Yes, the single stupidest game purchase we made game wise, because we bought it just to play Mario Safari. I wanted the game, my brother wanted the scope. It would've been cooler if it hadn't been A) HUGE and B) a battery eater. That thing took six AAA batteries just about every three hours of gameplay. We probably played with it a decent amount of time the first year we had it. Then my brother took it to uni with him, I don't know where it is now.

My brother and I were really technologically advanced, even for our generation, I think. My grandmother had a PC (actually, I think this may have been my father's idea, but who knows) back when I was in Kindergarten, my brother is three years younger than me.

We had the first two Carmen Sandiego games and some game called Bagasaurus, which was outdated by the time we bought it, a couple Sesame Street games for my brother that turned out to be way too easy for him, and another game that's apparently a semi-obscure edu-tainment classic, Midnight Rescue.

Nothing in the known universe is harder than trying to start floppy disks- the big old five inchers- using DOS at age five. By the time I was in second grade, '92, the school had enough money to put in a computer lab and we had Kid Pix and Oregon Trail (yes, the lab had 15 Apple IIE's and three Macs, the Macs had Kid Pix, the IIE's had everything else) and other cool games that were easy to load in comparison. We also had LOGO- that "game" with the little triangular turtle that you gave commands to to make him make squares. It's like an Etch-A-Sketch that requires you to know math to use it, and that was easier than /bad command or file name seven or eight times when all you wanted to do was capture some robots before midnight.

It's really kind of amazing. In my house right now there are three computers- one of which is small enough to fit in a briefcase. Two of them are sharing a connection that allows me to type this entry and have, potentially, the rest of the world see it. The third computer plays games that put Bagasaurus squarely in the Dark Ages, and plays them on CD's, no less, something that rich people used to listen to music back in the day.

If the jump from the Wright brothers to the Boeing 747 was fast, consider the evolution of the personal computer.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------