Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Midsummer Television
Thursday, Oct. 21, 2004
3:11 p.m.

Today was the day for my Midsummer performance. It went well, people liked it, it sort of got suggested that my actors understood and used the text which was fabulous. I guess the way I look at that, it is Shakespeare, and what's he known for? His original plot lines? His depth of character? The unpredictable endings? Hmmmm, maybe his language? Yes, yes, I think that just might have been the emphasis.

However, with that done and the promptbook all handed in and finished, I have all of the big projects behind me at last. So that I may start on a new set of them...

Now it's time for the ten minute Midsummer scene. For this one, I have the opportunity to do whatever I want. If I want to do a rock musical, and I can justify it, a rock musical I may have.

I want to do the scene with the players (or the mechanicals, whichever you like to call them) in a sort of high school play style. That part in act five really lends itself to overenthusiastic high school kids who aren't totally certain what's going on. However, I don't know if that is what I really want to do, or if I could effectively orchestrate it.

Maybe I'll just do something with fairies and see what happens.

Leo, the Russian, was doodling all through Directing. It was mostly to do with the Iraqis and killing infidels, and it was just too hilarious. Because he isn't an American, he is allowed to do things that we simply cannot. He started working on the highly visual "25 Ways to Kill Infidels", and way number one was a sketch of the Trade Centre. I told him that he only gets to draw that because he's Russian and that no one who sees it but me will laugh outright. It's true, he showed it to friend Ben who looked at it and after the slight look of horror faded away he chuckled, a little.

After that, Ben got a phone call that came up on his mobile as (555) 555-5555. Yeah. No real human being has this number. No one. Ben, of course, did not answer it, but he did call it back. It came up as a non-existant number.

While it would be super cool to say that he got a phone call from beyond the grave, and just didn't answer it, the sad truth is that it was probably a telemarketer with a number masking device.

During this same conversation with Ben and Leo, we got onto the subject of loans and how Ben will be an indentured servant to the government for the next ten years of his life. Leo can't be because, well, he's Russian, no American bank will loan him money, and I don't have any loans. However, I guess I'll be an indentured servant by proxy because of Nathan. Neither of them could figure out what I meant.

I had assumed that by telling Katrina, the department gossip, that Nathan and I were engaged that the entire department would know. This is not the case, it seems. It's nice that Katrina is learning to curb her habit, but at the same time it brings about the necessity of explaining things to people mulitple times. I wish she'd stick to spreading good gossip.

Speaking of Nathan and I, today it's a year and a half we've been together. Are we doing anything? No. He's got homework, but we might do something tomorrow, which is OK because, like he's stuck to this year, homework first.

Television comes in a good second, though. I shouldn't complain to him as much as I do, but when it comes right down to it, I really loathe television. There is an awful lot of total crap on that little lighted box, and Nathan happens to like quite a bit of it. I love The Simpsons, I like MASH every now and again, but other than that, he and I really don't have similar tastes at all. He likes [adult swim] on Comedy Central, football games, Friends, most reality shows (though he doesn't watch them religiously, thankfully), and The West Wing.

On the other hand, I like Masterpiece Theatre, Mystery, and quite a few old British comedies. I will stop on the History Channel for just about anything but wars, and the Discovery Channel for programmes on peculiar phenomenon, and HGTV sometimes by virtue of my slight addiction to The Sims. However, sometimes late at night I will happen across Talk Sex With Sue. This is a 60 something year old woman who (with the help of a panelist of experts on the earpiece she wears) answers callers questions about sex.

She's a 60 year old woman! She could have grandchildren! What does she tell them about her job? It really is sort of baffling how she came to get this job rather than perhaps, one of the experts who talk to her over the earpiece. I mean, Sue's only doing the show as the personality, she doesn't really know anything much, it seems.

I expect she has her reasons, but I just think the show is generally funny. The last time I caught it, Sue had found some little rubber duckies that were really vibrators, and she was talking about how she liked to play with them. This really is like listening to your grandmother talk about the subject. It's really horrifying, but at the same time, you cannot look away.

I don't have too much more else to say, but I am going to go now because, to be honest, I really have to pee.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------