Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
My Sense of Style
Monday, Sept. 18, 2006
12:22 p.m.

I've just been looking at a friend's wedding pictures. They look like wedding pictures. You know what I mean, she plunked down several hundred dollars to have some guy follow them around and pose them. Then, of course, throw in the obliquatory shots of children being sweet and innocent and all dressed up, the groomsmen standing with their coats flung jauntilly over their shoulders, the bride whispering into the groom's ear, then seperate portraits that look like senior pictures all over again.

I'm really glad we don't have that variety. It would've made everything just that much worse to have some total stranger running around with a camera spending hours trying to get me to stand in ways I wouldn't be caught dead standing on purpose.

I never took senior pictures, I really really really hate posed portraits. All they seem to do is go "look at me, I can stare into the middle distance and lean on a rustic bridge" or "look at me, I can look thoughtful and lean my head on my hand and gaze, again, into the middle distance" or "ohhh, look, I'm standing near a water feature, this means I must hold my shoes in my hand to give me a charming, carefee additude". I despise this kind of crap.

I suppose, if done properly, a senior picture should look like a head shot. I tend to like professional head shots: good ones can make normal people look fantastic.

We're in the midst of framing some of the wedding pictures. It's been my weekend project. We've picked one that I don't intend to share with anyone, but we hung it on the condition that Nathan will stand up to his parents and tell them that he is not his brother, they did not pay for the pictures, and we don't have to share if we don't want to.

That's the easy part. I have this watercolour I did in a class two years ago now that fails to fit into any frame size. It came off a watercolour block, but I guess it wasn't a standard size. The block says it's 10 by 14, but is actually a little bigger than that. I suppose it would fit a 14X16, but not without matting, and I don't like matting paintings. Depending what you're doing, photographs sometimes benefit from it, and if you've got something with weird edges, it's important, but other than that I think it's silly. I refuse to crop it because I painted the whole thing, but I also don't want to spend the money for a specialty frame for it. I think I may end up scanning it, shrinking it, and printing out the smaller copy.

In an effort to make the bedroom look a little less bare, I bought curtains today. They're a light green, and one of the sheet sets we have is sort of a green stripe. The other set we have is taupe and hmmm, dark taupe? We've got two colours of woodwork, a light honey colour and a darker colour on the cedar chest. I figured green and yellow wouldn't be too far amiss.

I also designed a headboard that I might get built before we move out in two years. If I can find the right stain, it should end up matching, sorta, the light coloured dresser. I have an affinity to beadboard, and it's cheap. Actually, if I priced everything right, I'll end up having spent less than 75 bucks on it. Take that furniture stores asking a hundred more than that!

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------