Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Spring Break
Saturday, Feb. 17, 2007
6:43 p.m.

'Tis official. We've got spring break all planned and we're going to...

Saint Louis.

The Boy has a huge technical theatre convention in Phoenix at the end of the week, and he's going to fly out of St. Louis. Since someone (namely me) is going to have to drive there to drop him off and pick him up, we're spending the first three days of the week in St. Louis.

Right now, we're thinking going to the City Museum, the Science Center, the Art Museum and possibly the Zoo. The Zoo I'm not sure about because, well, a zoo in March can be a potentially nasty experience, even if said zoo is free. Other than that, my only worry is getting from the airport back home again by myself.

Those are the plans for the real Spring Break. My Spring Break, however, is two weeks. I only have two classes and the first week of March both Professor Gandalf and Professor Eccentric Cat Lady are going to different week long events, so I don't have any classes. Then I have classes again, and after that comes Spring Break. Makes me kinda wish I had things like money, or friends: I could do something cool. As it is, I'll probably devote the time to deep cleaning the house.

I always say if people more than The Boy and I regularly came to the house, it'd be in better shape. As it is, we're not too good at keeping surfaces clear, or floors vaccumed until either his or my parents come to visit, at which time we actually clean. At which point we throw lots of things away we'd been keeping in neatly stacked piles because, who knows, we might've needed them at some time.

It's just a little bit pitiful how much stuff we both have that we can't bear to part with at this stage of our lives. I have visions of our house coming to look like Scenic Designer Mark's is said to look- sort of like a cross between a museum and a flea market.

Everyone on his block knew his house because it was the one with the anvil in the front yard. The story was that he found it somewhere, got it into his truck, got it home, and realised that he didn't have room for it in his shed, or his storage room, or his basement. His wife wouldn't let him put it in the living room, so it lives in the yard.

At least The Boy doesn't bring home anvils... yet.

I got some annuals for the planters for this spring: white Impatiens and Shirley Poppies as well as Larkspur, Lobelia and violets leftover from last year. I also bought Sweet William because it was in the same section as the annuals and I forgot it's a biennial. I haven't decided what to do with them, whether I should try to pot them and bring them indoors when winter comes, or if I should put them in the planters and just leave the planters out year round. I don't have a yard, so I'm also a bit at a loss with what to do with them when we move again in two years or so.

The instructions on a few of them say to start the seeds indoors and move the seedlings outside. My father always planted everything outside from seed, and I can't find any reason to do so other than that it extends their growing period. As last frost down here is supposed to be the first week of April, I don't think that's a big deal.

Anyway, it's dinnertime.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------