Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
In Which I Am 17 Again
Saturday, Sept. 27, 2008
1:09 p.m.

When I left you last, I was tottering on the edge of disbelief vis-a-vis the employment scenario.

I am, in fact, employed, as the last week has made clear to me. Friday night I got a phone call, "Come in on Monday at ten, great, bye!"

OK. There are five of us and at the end of the year they're going to tell three of us to get out. (But I think they might be firing someone, so maybe the other way round.)

My first day I was mistaken for a 17 year old by the other new girl. I think this means I'm looking younger than I actually am again. I don't know why, but while I do look like absolutely everyone and no one, I also never look my age. Kinda makes me feel like a visual enigma. Everyone knows someone who looks just like me, but they have no idea how old I am.

The other girl is the only other person I've really properly met and she's... interesting? She's 18, dropped out of high school when she was a sophomore, and says that "getting a GED is hard." She was working at Wal-Mart, and was amazed to hear that they would probably start us around $8.25 after our training, because that would be more than she made at Wal-Mart, but, really, her dream since she was eight years old is to be a hairdresser. She is currently engaged to be married to her 23 year old fiancee in 2011, so she will be able to drink at her reception.

I mentioned that if you're married, and your spouse is of legal drinking age, they are able to permit you to drink. (Something I read a long time ago when researching drinking laws.) She is strongly considering moving the wedding date up a few years.

I was going to compare her to Luanne Platter from King of the Hill, but after browsing Wikipedia's entry decided, on the whole, Luanne is probably better off. I dunno, it's just hard for me to believe that people actually drop out of high school and don't finish because "it's too hard." I can understand due to prolonged illnesses, sudden complicated family situation, etc, but just plain old "school is hard," someone failed that girl.

Anyway, I was supposed to be going back up to Iowa for a wedding (friend of The Boy's), but since I was working, didn't. TB drove up last night and the wedding is in a few hours- he's coming back sometime late tomorrow. I am actually somewhat grateful because it turns out that, for some reason, TB's friend also invited TB's parents. I have no idea why. I suspect that because the guy has had to fix their computers in the last year or so, he either felt guilty, or someone was rude and made hints when he mentioned it.

Still, the bits we've heard from the two of them, it's even less their wedding than ours was ours. They aren't happy about it, but they figure since they're really not paying for anything, they don't have much choice.

On the whole, very glad to have to work. I was supposed to be there for five hours, but they were so busy, no one really had time to take a break and train us to do anything, so they told the three of us to go home about two hours in.

In other news, we wandered into the Best Buy after a gift card and wandered out with a Wii Fit because there was one on the shelf. Could we afford it? Not really. But we justified it to ourselves two ways, first, we'll just take it out of Christmas.

Second, when we were first thinking about a Wii, just a few weeks after the launch, we wandered into Best Buy and saw one. We joked that they couldn't be that hard to find if Best Buy had one, so we'd probably just pick one up right after Christmas. We never saw another one until two years later when I finally tracked one down at a Game Stop.

We looked at each other, looked at the Wii Fit, decided that mortals should not tempt fate, and bought it.

It's fun. Now, to someone who does not know my absolute and total horror of fitness and exercise, this does not mean anything. To people who know it's harder to get me to exercise than it is to get me to wear make-up, this is something of a statement.

I like having a visual guide, of sorts, for whether or not I'm doing things correctly, and right now it's a motivator that doesn't really give a damn about trying to make me feel good. It's just running through the programme.

There are certain places I wish it had more instruction, and there's so much more still to work on. I also liked finding out that I weigh less than what my bathroom scale tells me I weigh, and that my ideal weight is much closer than I thought it was. I've been thinking I was almost 15 pounds overweight, as opposed to 7. Also, my balance is just as good as I think it is, and my posture is slightly better than my father has always asserted it is.

I have a feeling I might be able to keep at this.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------