Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Spring, Love and Candy
Monday, Apr. 09, 2007
6:13 p.m.

We were visited by the Easter Bunny on Saturday and the Girl Scout today. My mother is reluctant to forgoe the Easter Bunny tradition, but this year the Easter Bunny sent money. We still spent it all on candy.

I finally re-connected with the Junior that was in the middle school play and exchanged money for cookies. Thin Mints and Cadbury eggs in the same month- gotta love spring.

I'm supposed to be re-writing a scene from Romeo and Juliet (West Side Storycising it), since it's due tomorrow, but I did this with King Lear when I was a senior in high school and I'm not terribly interested in doing it for a less interesting play. Even Much Ado would've been better, although, now that I think about it, harder to adapt. That Renaisannce wit and word play just doesn't translate well (see Steve Martin in Roxanne for the only decent attempt I can think of).

Since I've always translated Shakespeare and period pieces into pseudo-ebonics for frustrated friends who say that they can't "read that old timey shit", I think that's probably how I'll have to do it, and since I have the whitest class in the history of the world (Prof Gandalf is Jewish and CJ Mac is Scotch), I can get by with it.

"I take thee at thy word. Call me but love-"
"Butt love? Excuse you? And what's all this thee and thou crap? You got a lisp?"
"Shit Julie, I'm trying to be all poetical and shit. Tell you I love you, babe. I got it outta a book."
"Uh-huh, like you ever read a book."

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------