Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
What to do now
Thursday, Jul. 05, 2007
10:54 a.m.

We got all our fireworks in the natural way this year.

In other words, it poured. All night long. Not being stupid enough to play human lightning rod, I haven't any pictures.

Still, I understand the rain date for fireworks is supposed to be the 7th. I've signed up for 07/07/07 on Flickr, a group of 7,777 people that are taking seven pictures on the seventh and posting them to the group. The icing of all this is that something like one percent of all the pictures (if I've done my math properly, which I probably haven't) will go into a book with the proceeds going to UNICEF. It would be nice if they'd mention the names of all the participants somewhere in the book, but I don't know if that'll happen or not.

Anyway, this means that I'll have some fireworks shots to put in because it's supposed to be lovely on Saturday.

Other things I'm planning photographing include the sky at 7:07 am and pm (if I can manage to get up that early), and maybe some of the Farmer's Market, though I expect it being a Saturday there will be a lot of this.

In history, that's Ringo Starr's birthday (of course), but it's also George Cukor's (famous for fixing Wizard of Oz and having a hand in Gone with the Wind). Also on that day, Alaska became a state, and the UFO landed at Roswell. Don't I wish I lived in New Mexico for the only time in my life.

I'm still looking for a job. The city library still has a listing up for a full time nights and weekends person. I've been not looking at it because, um, those are times I'd like to have free. However, it would pay a heck of a lot more than the school job.

I've been racking my brains trying to think of something I could do that isn't really a "job" job. I have a friend who says I could give private acting lessons to middle and high schoolers. I dunno.

I think I'd love to start a high school/middle school writer's group. But I have no idea how I could do something like that- how I could find a place to do it. How do people start things like that? It's the part of the story that people always leave out. You always hear, "they saw a need and they filled it," but you never really hear what it was they did, just that it somehow magically happened.

I got the same thing from former uni students talking about their jobs. It's like they all turned up in major cities and suddenly they were making enormous foam scissors for an Off Off Broadway experimental production company.

Is the step everyone's leaving out "I got incredibly drunk and slept with so-and-so and it all came together"?

I just don't know.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------