Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
I smell the garden in your hair
Monday, Apr. 03, 2006
9:58 a.m.

I finally signed up for Pandora, since I realised it was free. For those who perhaps have not discovered this site yet, it's a fun idea. Type in a song or band you really love, say Breakfast at Tiffany's or Simon and Garfunkel. If it's anyone at all (they do know some more popular obscure stuff, but try to keep to stuff you would at least expect to find at the Barnes & Noble rather than hoping it's there), the site comes back with a list of music similar to that song/artist. It looks at the tonal quality of the music, not just what it's about. This means that you can come up with some pretty whacky stuff you've never heard of before.

I'm discovering that maybe I should give the Everly Brothers a bit of a listen. Almost every single song or artist I put in brings up songs from them, which is extremely odd because they're a band my father really likes, but only when they come on the radio. Could musical taste be hereditary?

Taking this the other way, however, that means that all these songs have something in common with an Everly Brother's song. This suggests that all music draws from the Everly Brothers. Could they truly be the forgotten gods of the music scene? Stand up, Everly Brothers, stand up and take your rightful place so cruelly stolen away by Elvis, who was nothing but a hack with a pelvis.

On Friday my upstairs neighbor killed her stove. I came home from class and saw a cooker sitting in front of my window. Clearly it had been involved in a fire. Remembering my tendancy to be heedless and forgetful, I panicked (Is that right? "paniced" looks so wrong.) as I recalled the pizza I had made in the oven last night, but on second glance the thing was nothing like ours. So I tried to work out where it had come from, when my upstairs neighbour drove up. She got out of the car, took one look at the charred cooker, looked at her windows, which I then noticed were all open wide and it wasn't exactly warm out, and took off for her place.

I felt better, but then wondered how badly she'd managed to burn the place down. No damage down here, I wonder if her upstairs neighbours were so lucky. Bang goes her security deposit.

Anyway, it's probably about time I toddle off to class. I've had more than enough parking tickets this cold, wet winter, so now that it's getting nice and warmish I'm going to try to walk more, which means I have to allow about fifteen minutes for the walk.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------