Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Kurt 'n' Karaoke
Thursday, Sept. 15, 2005
10:05 a.m.

Last night was the first time I've gotten out in quite a long while. It was good. Since everyone tends to go out and drink on Thursday nights, and Karaoke is not a super huge draw, there weren't so very many of us there. In fact, most of the people were current or former theatre kids.

Friend Jeff sang Palisades Park (yes, the Freddy Cannon song), and very well, I might add. Friend David sang the second best rendition I have ever heard of Judas' song from JC Superstar. I hate Andrew Lloyd Weber, but that song is tolerable mostly because I have only heard it sung by talented, energetic people who are really into it. Juice's Girlfriend (she has a name, but I only know her through Friend Juice, so Juice's Girlfriend is a decent enough title for her) exhudes the aura of being much more talented than she is- this is what confidence can do for a person.

I read Uncle Bob, so I've heard a lot about Karaoke without having experienced it until now. It was interesting to be on the other side of the booth- as it were. The two guys who ran it seemed to be generally having fun. They also seemed to know Friends Jeff and David as well as Office Worker Guy, looking out of place in semi-business attire.

Miss Annie and I left after two hours, as did just about everybody else who didn't plan on buying drinks. Neither of us drink or smoke, so we kind of agreed to go more often and be cool like that together: it's hard to be the only person in a roomfull. Though, Friend David doesn't drink, but he's got enough charisma and just plain whackyness to carry him through.

I saw Kurt Vonnegut on The Daily Show last night as well. To my knowledge I've not read any of his work, but I have always vaugely wanted to. Jon Stewart suggested that the guy was not exactly what he had expected, which, come on, the guy's not so young anymore and I'll bet he doesn't do interviews very often. Especially not on television.

In all fairness, I think if Stewart had more or less let the guy talk, rather than ask questions, it might have gone better. The list (which is featured on the show's website) is proof that he had things he wanted to say, and I'll bet it would've been a lot more entertaining had there been extrapolation. The list itself is, while interesting, not exactly conclusive. It's like reading the notes for someone's speech: you know what they're talking about, but not necessarily what they wanted to say.

My favourite quote? Vonnegut saying that he did believe that we were created by some higher power who knew exactly what he or she was doing, which is why we had "giraffes and hippopotomi and the clap".

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------