Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
I can always tell which is the front end of a horse, but beyond that, my art is not above the ordinary.
Monday, Jul. 30, 2007
3:32 p.m.

Put in an application at the vet's office down the street to do whatever they'll hire me to do.

Remembered that it's been years since I really had anything to do with animals. Sure, I cat sit for the J-Boss for a week, but that involved feeding empty bowls for a week and watching television at her house for a couple hours in the evening. I only even saw the cat once. The television watching was because the J-Boss said that in spite of the cat not being a huge fan of people, she got really crazy if left alone for more than 48 hours, so, you know, just hang out for a couple hours, watch television.

My other recent animal experience was when I worked at GS camp. They had a bad time my first year when one of the three horse barn staff was unexpectedly called away for a week to her father's funeral, and the other was suffering a broken ankle. I had time off, and went over to give them a hand because they were genuinely cool people and I do like horses.

The one with the broken ankle, Buckeye, knew I'd gone to the camp's horse session pretty much every single year (she'd been one of the counselors), and apparently thought I was more capable than I would've said. She sent me out with Nutmeg to catch horses, never mind I'd never even seen it done and had no idea what I was supposed to be doing. That was fun. Then, I got to bridle horses, which I'd at least seen done this time, and Nutmeg did agree to do the difficult ones.

The thing that made it most fun was that they never got great horses. They rented them from some semi-shady guy. My first year, one of the horses, Pluto, died in the first three weeks from an advanced case of something it had when it got there, which the guy denied absolutely. They called a vet out who said, yeah, the guy was full of it. They did what they could, but Pluto snuffed it.

Aside from that, they didn't all have wonderful temperaments. There was one who was never ridden because he was a nasty animal. There was another one with a nasty stubborn streak. Another, Brownie, was, for some reason, a little bridle shy. She had a great disposition otherwise- once you got the bridle on her, she'd do exactly what you wanted her to at the slightest touch. Buckeye figured someone must've been really rough on her.

Campers always went in teams, one riding, the other on the lead. I don't know exactly why, possibly because the horse was less likely to get wild ideas with someone at his head, but because of camper's tendencies to yank on the reins, girls who rode Brownie tended to be more on a pony ride. They wouldn't put a girl on her lead, and the rider was pretty much instructed to leave the reins alone and just use voice and legs. I was on lead for Brownie a couple times. It really was amazing, it took a word and a very slight movement to get a response. If you were too hard on her, she wouldn't have anything to do with you.

It was an interesting couple of weeks, but I'd hardly say that I genuinely know anything other than how to catch a horse.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------