Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
This Week and Other Horrors
Friday, Aug. 24, 2007
2:52 p.m.

I'll have an interview next week. It's for the job I think I want the least: basically a professional pooper scooper position. At least they did tell me they'd get back to people within the week, and then did.

I'm going to call the place I liked best back on Monday, seeing as they've had more than a week to call me back. My mother told me I should've done it already, so I seem interested. I worry about calling too soon because what if that seems over-eager and annoying? I don't have years of ridiculous dating experience to guide me on this, where is the line between nuisance and serious?

There's a local winery that wants shop employees, but I don't know anything about wine, nor do I drink it. Still, that sounds like it could possibly be fun. All the vinyards around here are tiny locally owned places, which is part of what I look for in a job. Part of the reason most of the things I've answered are vets, they're pretty self-contained. They also have the potential to be very different from one day to the next. Still, being a non-drinker, I don't think they'd really want me.

I cleaned the kitchen and made brownies, so I'm feeling ambitious and accomplished. I might deep clean the bathrooms, but I don't know if I'm prepared for all the potential nastyness that might involve. The Boy always puts the seat down, but every time I clean the bathroom thoroughly, I 'bout puke when I put it up. How does he manage it? I shudder to think what the room would look like if I went in there with a black light.

I have discovered how to make Google my own personal Napster, and it gives me better results than any music-stealing service ever.

I found a lovely song called 221B Baker Street, that's all mysterious violin. I suppose it was used as a theme for some Sherlock Holmes programme sometime. I also found the theme for The Exorcist, which is called Tubular Bells. I saw that movie my freshman year at uni during a Halloween movie night.

I showed up during the last half of Nightmare on Elm Street, then saw all of a Peter Jackson horror/comedy called either Braindead or Dead Again, depending on which country you're in. That was gleefully disgusting, and I couldn't really tell you know what it was about, but I'd know it if I came across it on TV.

The last movie of the night was The Exorcist. I'm a wimp when it comes to scary movies. Seriously. It was a full year before I could watch The Sixth Sense all the way through, and I had to have someone in the room with me when I did. Interestingly, I had the twist worked out the first time I saw it, and that time I turned it off after the scene with Cole in the kitchen.

But, back to Exorcist. I'd read so much about it, including the fact that part of the original idea came from the story of Emma Schmidt. This was a real, documented event that took place in Earling, Iowa in the late 1920's. The town's halfway between Omaha and Ida Grove, and I've never spent much time in Western Iowa.

Anyway, I was determined I'd watch the movie. I was in a whole room-full of people, there was nothing to be scared of, and as it was the last movie, the walk from the theatre back to my dorm was light and short.

I still can't believe I watched the whole thing, and it did scare the crap out of me, but I was disappointed by the fact that the movie was only interested in being a middle of the road horror film. I thought it had a lot of holes in it, and the whole Ouija board thing was a sad excuse to start everything. I also remember thinking strongly that Regan might've been exorcised, but the devil definitely won.

Plotwise, it was asking for more, cinematically, it was pretty amazing. After it was over, the guys running the DVD projector ran it back to frame through a couple of the "subliminal" shots. I've heard people deny they exist, but I'd never heard of them until I saw the movie, and I saw 'em.

OK, I'd better move on from that topic. I've been doing little more than thinking about it alone in the house on a sunny summer day and then Arthur Brown's Fire from The Crazy World of Arthur Brown came on and made me jump about a foot in the air. You know Fire, it's the one that begins with Arthur Brown screaming, "I am the god of hell fire and I bring you fire." Yeah.

Thankfully, that was followed by a cute little German Eurodance song called Heute Ist Mein Tag. All happy again.

Thinking of that, I'm reminded of a Techno song that had a bridge in French. Either my freshman or sophomore year of high school, Friend Brandy loaned me a CD with said song on it with the request to translate the minute or so of French for her. I don't think I ever listened to the entire song all the way through, but at the time, I was put to it to translate the whole thing and pretty much succeded. All I can remember now was something about sugar lips, I love you forever. If I'd had any sense, I'd've Googled.

Still, I'd be interested to find it now.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------