Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Analyses and Updates
Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
12:18 p.m.

I sent Richard the Acting Professor (RAP) an e-mail asking him whether he needed anybody for Our Town, and he e-mailed right back to say yes and we'll talk.

I e-mailed Professor Cynthia the Playwright (PCP) asking her about the class she's teaching this summer and whether it would be an opportunity to write something for KCACTF next year. I haven't heard back from her yet.

I admitted to High School Director yesterday that I'm really thinking about directing Proof next spring.

PCP always says that she directs shows that scare her a little. Friend Q told me once, in a phrase I continue to find comforting, that it's OK to be scared.

I'm extremely anxious about all the things I am potentially getting invloved with. I don't have the slightest idea why I'm doing any of them. I'm terrified that I'll manage to screw everything up somehow and end up the department's laughing stock. But hey, if fear is a good thing maybe I'm learning and growing.

Last night I watched Big Fish, and the night before that Down With Love. Ewan McGregor mini marathon. I loved Fish, and Love was OK.

Tim Burton has a knack for treading the line between creepy and delightful and that was exactly where Big Fish fell. The colours were all rich and true, and the characters and the plot rang in the same way. I want to read the book just to see how the two compare because I have a feeling that the film lost a lot of the through lines that are important to the story but not to the action.

Burton has another stop motion film the-name-of-which-I-can't-remember coming out right after Charlie and the Chocolate Factory next year and I would like to see both of them.

Down With Love tried very hard but for some reason failed to work for me. I think the costume designer and the director were working on two different concepts, though. The acting was good, and the plot was pretty decent... The whole thing arcs so that I wanted to like it but it couldn't sustain the arc enough for me like it as much as I wanted. All the elements were there, but the result was not what it should have been. I don't know where that comes from.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------